10 weeks ago, I started on a journey toward better health. To eat better, to improve my fitness and to overall improve my health. I started with all the enthusiasm that is expected when anyone does these things. Over the following weeks, I ate well, exercised, tried many things and became really active.

Gradually, as time dragged on (and Winter crept in), old habits returned, the indoors became much more appealing than get out and about, work hours increased due to general ‘busyness’ (some people spell it “business”), and the new health kick kind of took the back seat.

I’ve been here before. The fork in the road where you say “I tried and I failed”. But I think that’s the wrong way of looking at this. Yes, this is what I’ve always said to myself previously, but now I think I’m seeing this the way they should be.

I was at a Digital Citizens event on Tuesday night and one of the Sydney Twitter Brigade approached me and said “wow…you look like you’ve lost 10kg! I’ve been reading your blog :)”.

Hmmm…all is not lost I thought as I sipped on my beer!

See…here’s the deal. I knew up front that this was going to be a long road. The path was not always going to be smooth and straight. Right now, I’m on a hill and struggling to get over it. But…nothing has been lost. I had a great start and clearly people have noticed a difference.

Now is not the time to wallow in self pity and throw it all away. Yes, it’s cold and wet…yes my knee took a battering and yes I need to rest up a bit. But that’s certainly no excuse to give up. This hill will be climbed…the journey will continue.

I may just get out the C25K schedule and reinvigorate some jogging tomorrow night 🙂

Cheers

fatdadslim

(and I have a few videos to edit and upload…all in good time)